Mellow Jeremy was born in Columbus, Ohio in the late 1970’s.  He was interested in computers from early on in his life, and always enjoyed listening to music.  In 1997, he began listening to Juan Atkins, Kevin Saunderson, and Derrick May, inventors of techno music.  He learned about Propellerheads Rebirth software, which emulated the classic 303 synthesizer and 808 and 909 drum machines.  Soon after, he began to create his own electronic music with a computer sequencer.  When Ableton Live was released, He began working with this software, using Ableton as a studio device instead of a live instrument.

            Mellow Jeremy started to upload his music to the internet in 2000.  In 2006 he was signed to the ResearchMusic digital label and released six albums with them between the years 2006 and 2012.  In 2006, his debut album Galaxy Persuasions was released, featuring the songs Mood Changes and Paradigm.  He released his second album, Interesting Motions, in the summer of 2008.  This was the first full-length album and featured the songs Synth Technology and Back to House Music.  In 2009, he released his third album Electro Realizations.  The album included remixes of songs that were originally released on the first two albums.  In the following years he released three more albums with ResearchMusic including Technological Existence, Sequenced, and Space Things.

            In 2013, he began to distribute his music through OneRPM under Mellow Jeremy Recordings.  His first self-released album was Sometimes, released in August of 2013, and featured the songs Electronic Islands and Electro Waves.  Moonlight was also released in the summer of 2013 and featured a calm title track followed by more energetic songs as the album continued to the hypnotizing final track, Synthesized.  The next album was released early in 2014.  Inner Movements included a high energy track called “Into Light” and another named “Make It Through The Night” that showed a much more upfront and energetic sound.  In 2014, he also released Aviate, The Future Mix 2, and That Time.  The single Aviate was created from the song originally released on Technological Existence and included a radio edit and remix.  The Future Mix 2 was a collection of songs from previous Mellow Jeremy albums and was promoted with a continuous mix created in Traktor.  That Time was an EP released in October of 2014 that included six digital tracks, featuring the songs Vintage and The Way Things Were.  The album Lift You Up was released in the summer of 2015 along with the single, Night Sky.  In 2016, he released a cumulative work of songs that he created early on in his career that was aptly named The Early Years.  He also released the album Eras in 2016 that featured the songs Drift, Bright Side, and Elaborate.